The Mill River Redemption: A Novel

  • Publish Date: 2014-08-26
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Darcie Chan
  • $13.40
  • Save $19.98

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.


New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns to the enchanting town of Mill River in a heartwarming novel of family, self-discovery, and forgiveness. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.

Josie DiSanti is starting over. Recently widowed, she has fled her New York City home with her two young daughtersspirited Rose and shy Emilyin tow. She takes refuge in Mill River, Vermont, to live with her only remaining relative, Ivy Collard, the local bookstore owner and a woman Josie barely knows. There, the young mother and her girls build a new life for themselvesuntil a shocking tragedy tears the sisters apart.

Years later, Josies still-estranged daughters return to the quiet town for the reading of their mothers will, which stipulates that they must work together to locate a hidden key to a safe-deposit box containing their inheritance. Even from the great beyond, it seems Josie will do anything to bring about her daughters reconciliation. Having no choice but to go along with their mothers final wishes, Rose and Emily move back to Mill River for the summer to begin the searchdiscovering that, in the close-knit community known for magic and miracles, an even greater treasure awaits them.

Praise for The Mill River Redemption

Delving into the complicated roles of siblings, parents, and neighbors, [Darcie] Chan gives each Mill River character a powerful role in refining and influencing these dynamics.New York Journal of Books

Darcie Chan paints a vivid and loving portrait of the kind of small town we all wished we lived in. This layered tale of two estranged sisters brought together by a mothers love will make you laugh, cry, cheer, hug your loved ones a little tighter. An enchanting storyteller, Chan is one of those rare authors who make you feel more fully alive.Elizabeth Letts, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion

Readers looking for a feel-good book about small towns and family bonds wont be disappointed by Chans latest.Kirkus Reviews

An engrossing page-turner, reeling readers in further with each layer thats revealed . . . a satisfying read with sympathetic and relatable characters that will be good for book group discussions and vacation reading.Library Journal

Charming . . . compelling . . . Slow reveals and dramatic twists proliferate.Booklist

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Readers Circle for author chats and more.

Customer Reviews


We Also Recommend