Look!

  • Publish Date: 2016-05-10
  • Binding: Board book
  • Author: Jeff Mack
  • $13.92
  • Save $15.72

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.


An ode to the joy of books, this happy gorilla shows little ones how much fun reading can be, and all the excitement to be had away from the television. - Seira Wilson, Amazon Editor

This hilarious tale of a friendship forged by books is the perfect picture book for fans of IT'S A BOOK and OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA! A great read-aloud for storytime.

Everyone needs a little attention from time to time. Just ask our gorilla who will stop at nothing to be noticed by the boy with his eyes glued to the TV set. But for the gorilla, its going to take more than a quiet nudge to steal away the boys attention. When his usual antics fail to catch the boys eyeLOOK OUT! The gorilla has some other tricks up his sleeve.

Using only two wordsLOOK and OUTJeff Mack relates an adorably hilarious story about an attention-loving gorilla, a television-loving boy, and a friendship that develops over books. Simple in construct yet richly creative, this interactive and colorful tale will leave children laughing and loving books for years to come.

Perfect for fans ofIt's a BookandOfficer Buckle and Gloria.

Praise for LOOK!:

An Amazon Best Book of the Month!


* The slapstick action unfolds on linen-textured backgrounds, battered vintage book covers, and the actual pages of a bookhat-tips to the physicality of books that hint at a happy ending for bibliophiles of all ages. Even if audiences miss these winks and nods to the tactile pleasures of reading, theyll still love that gorilla: hulking, eager-to-please and almost palpably furry, hell be welcome in any room. Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

The personalities and emotions of the chunky, fluffy ape and the TV-entranced boy nearly vibrate off the page. Look, indeed! An energetic invitation to the joys of books. Kirkus Reviews

This is a fun read-aloud that will have children wanting to look and look again. School Library Journal

Macks gentle, cartoonish illustrations are cleverly drawn on old book covers and endpapers, a subtle detail that emphasizes the joy of reading, and with a playful two-word vocabulary, even the littlest readers will be able to get in on the fun. Booklist

Look! treads familiar metafictive ground in celebrating the pleasures of reading, but it manages to feel fresh nonetheless, with inventive use of controlled text, vibrant mixed-media art, and thoughtful design. Horn Book






From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews


We Also Recommend